LVMH Prize Fourth Annual Edition Submissions

For the next 20 days until February 5th 2017, submissions are open for the fourth annual LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers. Applicants can submit their requirements at the website; This year’s winner will take home €300000 in prize money, and a year of business mentoring from the group’s in-house teams. LVMH is owner of 15 fashion houses including Christian Dior, Marc Jacobs, Céline, Fendi, Givenchy, Kenzo and of course, Louis Vuitton among others.

Launched in November 2013, the LVMH Prize was created to honour and support young fashion designers around the world. Every year, a young designer and three graduates from fashion schools can claim the prestigious prize. Young designers in this case refers to any designer from any country who has produced at least two collections and is 18 and over, but below 40 years of age. We think it’s about time more African fashion labels made it to the semi-finalist stages since Osakwe Amaka’s Maki Oh and Adebayo Oke-Lawal’s Orange Culture. Both Nigerian labels made it to the inaugural 2014 edition.


The young Fashion Designers’ competition is open to designers from every country who have produced at least two collections and who are under 40. To help them develop their creative work, LVMH gives the winners a grant of 300,000 euros and personalized technical and financial support from the Group for a 12-month period following the LVMH Prize award. This support covers all the areas of expertise that are critical to a young fashion brand (intellectual property, sourcing, production and distribution, image and advertising, marketing etc.)


The Graduates prize is open to students of fashion schools who are completing a degree course at a fashion school in 2016-2017. The three winners, and their school, receive a 10,000 euros grant and an opportunity to work as part of the design team at an LVMH brand for one year.

A committee comprising of more than forty internationally renowned fashion experts chooses 8-10 finalists from the pre-selected candidates. The international committee of experts – comprising journalists, stylists, models, photographers and buyers – will select the finalists in March 2017 during Paris Fashion Week. The panel will have visited the 25 or 30 semi-finalists in the LVMH showroom and selected finalists to present to the in-house jury.

Every year, a prestigious jury consisting of great artistic directors and executives from the LVMH Group assembles to elect the winner of the Young Fashion Designer award. The LVMH Prize Jury is composed of designers of LVMH Houses. This year’s jury is made up of J.W Anderson, Maria Garzia Chiuri, Nicolas Ghesquiere, Marc Jacobs, Karl Lagerfeld, Humberto Leon, Carol Lim Phoebe Philo, Riccardo Tisci, Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie and Pierre-Yves Roussel.

What do you think?